For the last few months, WhatsApp has been urging its users to accept the new Privacy Changes in their accounts as one way of ensuring that they remain connected even as the Messaging App plans to update its Terms and Conditions.
And after a long persuasion, the deadline for accepting the new privacy changes was expected to come to an end tomorrow on Saturday 15th May 2021.
This was after the Facebook, a company that owns WhatsApp, in January this year, urged its users to accept its new privacy changes, as one way of bettering their messaging activities.
This immediately sparked an online backlash from users, with many coming out to raise concerns on the privacy of their accounts and messages.
The company however, rubbished the concerns, saying even after accepting the new changes, Facebook and WhatsApp will continue to have no access to the users’ private messages, calls, location and groups.
By Friday 14th, the company confirmed that the app’s two billion users had already accepted its new terms and conditions.
And if you are among the users who has not accepted the new changes, then the company has issued a warning that you will start losing your account functionality after the deadline, if you persistently refuse to accept the new terms.
It however, confirmed that they will continue reminding its users to update even after the Saturday deadline.
“You won’t be able to access your chat list, but you can still answer incoming phone and video calls. If you have notifications enabled, you can tap on them to read or respond to a message or call back a missed phone or video call.
After a few weeks of limited functionality, you won’t be able to receive incoming calls or notifications, and WhatsApp will stop sending messages and calls to your phone,” read part of the statement from the company.
“Their accounts will not be deleted or lose functionality, We’ll continue to provide reminders to those users within WhatsApp in the weeks to come,” added Whatsapp.